Burbank California Traffic Violations
If you have been charged with a Burbank California traffic violation or Burbank California speeding ticket, the Burbank California Motor Vehicle Department (DMV) will assign points to your driving record, depending on the type of infraction. As with most states, you can expect to pay a fine based on the area in which you received your Burbank California traffic violation or Burbank California speeding ticket. Burbank California traffic violations can be paid by mail, in person at the courthouse, by check or money, by phone, or even online, depending on the county in which you received your ticket.
Burbank California Points System and Suspension of Licenses
The Burbank California Department of Motor Vehicles issues points to your Burbank California driving record based on the type of Burbank California traffic violation. There are two levels of Burbank California traffic violations: 1-point offenses and 2-point offenses. See the Burbank California DMV website for a complete list of Burbank California traffic violations and Burbank California point assignments.
Some of the most common traffic violations include:
- A traffic conviction: 1 point
- Speeding: 1 point
- An at-fault accident: 1 point
- Reckless driving or hit-and-run driving: 2 points
- DUI: 2 points
- Driving while suspended or revoked: 2 points
The Burbank California DMV will notify you when you are halfway to a Burbank California license suspension. Because you can only remove 1-point offensive with a Burbank California defensive driving course, it is important to be aware of your Burbank California driver's license record and take steps accordingly. Your Burbank California driver's license could be suspended if you accumulate more than:
- 4 points in 12 months
- 6 points in 24 months
- 8 points in 36 months
Points can be cleared from your Burbank California driving record in two ways. First, 1-point Burbank California traffic violations will automatically clear after three years, as well as most 2-point Burbank California traffic violation offenses. However, you can attend a Burbank California internet defensive driving school or Burbank California online traffic school to keep 1-point violations from being added to your driver's license in the first place.
Attending a Burbank California Defensive Driving School or Burbank California Traffic School
If you have received a Burbank California speeding ticket or have been stopped for a Burbank California traffic violation, which includes minor infractions such as speeding or failing to yield, you can take a Burbank California defensive driving course online to remove violations and points from your Burbank California driving record.
The Burbank California Department of Motor Vehicles does not recommend specific Burbank California defensive driving schools or Burbank California traffic schools, so be sure to check with your school to make sure it is fully accredited with the state.
The Benefits of a Clean Burbank California Driving Record
A clean Burbank California driving record can help you in several ways. By taking a Burbank California online defensive driving course, you can remove 1-point Burbank California traffic violations from your Burbank California driver record. Because you can only take one Burbank California defensive driving course per 18-month period, it is important to be aware of accumulated points and to reduce them in a timely manner. If you have accrued 4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months, or 8 points in 36 months, your Burbank California license will be suspended. But you can avoid having your driver's license suspended or revoked by attending a licensed Burbank California online traffic school or Burbank California online defensive driving course.
In addition, a clean Burbank California driving record is essential to keeping your Burbank California car insurance premium as low as possible. In general, the less traffic violations you have on your Burbank California driving history, the lower your insurance premiums will be. Most Burbank California car insurance companies will charge higher premiums for each point accumulated. However, Burbank California car insurance companies often offer a car insurance premium reduction of 5-15% for completion of a Burbank California defensive driver program, depending on the provider.
Burbank California Mature Driver Discount Programs
Burbank California drivers 55 and older are eligible to receive car insurance discount for completing a licensed Burbank California Mature Driver Discount Program. There are many Burbank California Mature Driver courses designed to teach current road rules, defensive driving techniques, and generally improve driving skills. These Burbank California Mature Driver classes cover topics such as how to minimize the effects of dangerous blind spots, how to monitor your own driving capabilities, vision and hearing changes, hazardous driving situations, and the effects of medication while driving. Courses include at least 400 minutes of instruction and carry a maximum fee of $30 in addition to a $1 DMV certificate charge, which can be used to obtain a Burbank California car insurance reduction, depending on your Burbank California insurance provider.
Burbank California Juvenile Driver Programs
Burbank California teen drivers are under special scrutiny from the Burbank California Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are a Burbank California teen driver and have received a traffic ticket, your driving license could be suspended if you fail to pay your Burbank California traffic ticket fine in a timely fashion, usually within six months of the violation. Upon your first at-fault accident, the DMV will send a warning letter. Then, if you are convicted for a second at-fault accident within a 12-month period, your driver's license will be suspended unless you are accompanied by a parent or licensed adult over 25. Burbank California teen drivers can find out more information about Burbank California traffic violations and point assignment at the Burbank California Department of Motor Vehicles.
Enrolling in a Burbank California online defensive driving course can help teens maintain a clean driving record as well as educate younger drivers and help avoid Burbank California traffic violations, Burbank California speeding tickets, and accidents in the first place. In addition, many Burbank California car insurance companies offer a discount for certification of a completed Burbank California online defensive driving course or Burbank California online traffic school. In addition to a possible Burbank California insurance rate reduction, Burbank California defensive driving courses are also recommended for new drivers because they teach practical skills that will help avoid accidents and traffic tickets in the future.
Burbank California Classroom Traffic Schools
Remember: the Burbank California Department of Motor Vehicles cannot refer drivers to a specific Burbank California defensive driving school or Burbank California traffic school, so make sure to check that a school is accredited with the state. You can remove most 1 point Burbank California speeding tickets and Burbank California traffic violations by taking a licensed online Burbank California defensive driving class