Irvine California Traffic Violations
If you have been charged with a Irvine California traffic violation or Irvine California speeding ticket, the Irvine California Motor Vehicle Department (DMV) will assign points to your driving record, depending on the type of infraction. As with most states, you can expect to pay a fine based on the area in which you received your Irvine California traffic violation or Irvine California speeding ticket. Irvine California traffic violations can be paid by mail, in person at the courthouse, by check or money, by phone, or even online, depending on the county in which you received your ticket.
Irvine California Points System and Suspension of Licenses
The Irvine California Department of Motor Vehicles issues points to your Irvine California driving record based on the type of Irvine California traffic violation. There are two levels of Irvine California traffic violations: 1-point offenses and 2-point offenses. See the Irvine California DMV website for a complete list of Irvine California traffic violations and Irvine California point assignments.
Some of the most common traffic violations include:
- A traffic conviction: 1 point
- Speeding: 1 point
- An at-fault accident: 1 point
- Reckless driving or hit-and-run driving: 2 points
- DUI: 2 points
- Driving while suspended or revoked: 2 points
The Irvine California DMV will notify you when you are halfway to a Irvine California license suspension. Because you can only remove 1-point offensive with a Irvine California defensive driving course, it is important to be aware of your Irvine California driver's license record and take steps accordingly. Your Irvine California driver's license could be suspended if you accumulate more than:
- 4 points in 12 months
- 6 points in 24 months
- 8 points in 36 months
Points can be cleared from your Irvine California driving record in two ways. First, 1-point Irvine California traffic violations will automatically clear after three years, as well as most 2-point Irvine California traffic violation offenses. However, you can attend a Irvine California internet defensive driving school or Irvine California online traffic school to keep 1-point violations from being added to your driver's license in the first place.
Attending a Irvine California Defensive Driving School or Irvine California Traffic School
If you have received a Irvine California speeding ticket or have been stopped for a Irvine California traffic violation, which includes minor infractions such as speeding or failing to yield, you can take a Irvine California defensive driving course online to remove violations and points from your Irvine California driving record.
The Irvine California Department of Motor Vehicles does not recommend specific Irvine California defensive driving schools or Irvine California traffic schools, so be sure to check with your school to make sure it is fully accredited with the state.
The Benefits of a Clean Irvine California Driving Record
A clean Irvine California driving record can help you in several ways. By taking a Irvine California online defensive driving course, you can remove 1-point Irvine California traffic violations from your Irvine California driver record. Because you can only take one Irvine California defensive driving course per 18-month period, it is important to be aware of accumulated points and to reduce them in a timely manner. If you have accrued 4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months, or 8 points in 36 months, your Irvine California license will be suspended. But you can avoid having your driver's license suspended or revoked by attending a licensed Irvine California online traffic school or Irvine California online defensive driving course.
In addition, a clean Irvine California driving record is essential to keeping your Irvine California car insurance premium as low as possible. In general, the less traffic violations you have on your Irvine California driving history, the lower your insurance premiums will be. Most Irvine California car insurance companies will charge higher premiums for each point accumulated. However, Irvine California car insurance companies often offer a car insurance premium reduction of 5-15% for completion of a Irvine California defensive driver program, depending on the provider.
Irvine California Mature Driver Discount Programs
Irvine California drivers 55 and older are eligible to receive car insurance discount for completing a licensed Irvine California Mature Driver Discount Program. There are many Irvine California Mature Driver courses designed to teach current road rules, defensive driving techniques, and generally improve driving skills. These Irvine California Mature Driver classes cover topics such as how to minimize the effects of dangerous blind spots, how to monitor your own driving capabilities, vision and hearing changes, hazardous driving situations, and the effects of medication while driving. Courses include at least 400 minutes of instruction and carry a maximum fee of $30 in addition to a $1 DMV certificate charge, which can be used to obtain a Irvine California car insurance reduction, depending on your Irvine California insurance provider.
Irvine California Juvenile Driver Programs
Irvine California teen drivers are under special scrutiny from the Irvine California Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are a Irvine California teen driver and have received a traffic ticket, your driving license could be suspended if you fail to pay your Irvine California traffic ticket fine in a timely fashion, usually within six months of the violation. Upon your first at-fault accident, the DMV will send a warning letter. Then, if you are convicted for a second at-fault accident within a 12-month period, your driver's license will be suspended unless you are accompanied by a parent or licensed adult over 25. Irvine California teen drivers can find out more information about Irvine California traffic violations and point assignment at the Irvine California Department of Motor Vehicles.
Enrolling in a Irvine California online defensive driving course can help teens maintain a clean driving record as well as educate younger drivers and help avoid Irvine California traffic violations, Irvine California speeding tickets, and accidents in the first place. In addition, many Irvine California car insurance companies offer a discount for certification of a completed Irvine California online defensive driving course or Irvine California online traffic school. In addition to a possible Irvine California insurance rate reduction, Irvine California defensive driving courses are also recommended for new drivers because they teach practical skills that will help avoid accidents and traffic tickets in the future.
Irvine California Classroom Traffic Schools
Remember: the Irvine California Department of Motor Vehicles cannot refer drivers to a specific Irvine California defensive driving school or Irvine California traffic school, so make sure to check that a school is accredited with the state. You can remove most 1 point Irvine California speeding tickets and Irvine California traffic violations by taking a licensed online Irvine California defensive driving class