Fresno California Traffic Violations
If you have been charged with a Fresno California traffic violation or Fresno California speeding ticket, the Fresno California Motor Vehicle Department (DMV) will assign points to your driving record, depending on the type of infraction. As with most states, you can expect to pay a fine based on the area in which you received your Fresno California traffic violation or Fresno California speeding ticket. Fresno California traffic violations can be paid by mail, in person at the courthouse, by check or money, by phone, or even online, depending on the county in which you received your ticket.
Fresno California Points System and Suspension of Licenses
The Fresno California Department of Motor Vehicles issues points to your Fresno California driving record based on the type of Fresno California traffic violation. There are two levels of Fresno California traffic violations: 1-point offenses and 2-point offenses. See the Fresno California DMV website for a complete list of Fresno California traffic violations and Fresno California point assignments.
Some of the most common traffic violations include:
- A traffic conviction: 1 point
- Speeding: 1 point
- An at-fault accident: 1 point
- Reckless driving or hit-and-run driving: 2 points
- DUI: 2 points
- Driving while suspended or revoked: 2 points
The Fresno California DMV will notify you when you are halfway to a Fresno California license suspension. Because you can only remove 1-point offensive with a Fresno California defensive driving course, it is important to be aware of your Fresno California driver's license record and take steps accordingly. Your Fresno California driver's license could be suspended if you accumulate more than:
- 4 points in 12 months
- 6 points in 24 months
- 8 points in 36 months
Points can be cleared from your Fresno California driving record in two ways. First, 1-point Fresno California traffic violations will automatically clear after three years, as well as most 2-point Fresno California traffic violation offenses. However, you can attend a Fresno California internet defensive driving school or Fresno California online traffic school to keep 1-point violations from being added to your driver's license in the first place.
Attending a Fresno California Defensive Driving School or Fresno California Traffic School
If you have received a Fresno California speeding ticket or have been stopped for a Fresno California traffic violation, which includes minor infractions such as speeding or failing to yield, you can take a Fresno California defensive driving course online to remove violations and points from your Fresno California driving record.
The Fresno California Department of Motor Vehicles does not recommend specific Fresno California defensive driving schools or Fresno California traffic schools, so be sure to check with your school to make sure it is fully accredited with the state.
The Benefits of a Clean Fresno California Driving Record
A clean Fresno California driving record can help you in several ways. By taking a Fresno California online defensive driving course, you can remove 1-point Fresno California traffic violations from your Fresno California driver record. Because you can only take one Fresno California defensive driving course per 18-month period, it is important to be aware of accumulated points and to reduce them in a timely manner. If you have accrued 4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months, or 8 points in 36 months, your Fresno California license will be suspended. But you can avoid having your driver's license suspended or revoked by attending a licensed Fresno California online traffic school or Fresno California online defensive driving course.
In addition, a clean Fresno California driving record is essential to keeping your Fresno California car insurance premium as low as possible. In general, the less traffic violations you have on your Fresno California driving history, the lower your insurance premiums will be. Most Fresno California car insurance companies will charge higher premiums for each point accumulated. However, Fresno California car insurance companies often offer a car insurance premium reduction of 5-15% for completion of a Fresno California defensive driver program, depending on the provider.
Fresno California Mature Driver Discount Programs
Fresno California drivers 55 and older are eligible to receive car insurance discount for completing a licensed Fresno California Mature Driver Discount Program. There are many Fresno California Mature Driver courses designed to teach current road rules, defensive driving techniques, and generally improve driving skills. These Fresno California Mature Driver classes cover topics such as how to minimize the effects of dangerous blind spots, how to monitor your own driving capabilities, vision and hearing changes, hazardous driving situations, and the effects of medication while driving. Courses include at least 400 minutes of instruction and carry a maximum fee of $30 in addition to a $1 DMV certificate charge, which can be used to obtain a Fresno California car insurance reduction, depending on your Fresno California insurance provider.
Fresno California Juvenile Driver Programs
Fresno California teen drivers are under special scrutiny from the Fresno California Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are a Fresno California teen driver and have received a traffic ticket, your driving license could be suspended if you fail to pay your Fresno California traffic ticket fine in a timely fashion, usually within six months of the violation. Upon your first at-fault accident, the DMV will send a warning letter. Then, if you are convicted for a second at-fault accident within a 12-month period, your driver's license will be suspended unless you are accompanied by a parent or licensed adult over 25. Fresno California teen drivers can find out more information about Fresno California traffic violations and point assignment at the Fresno California Department of Motor Vehicles.
Enrolling in a Fresno California online defensive driving course can help teens maintain a clean driving record as well as educate younger drivers and help avoid Fresno California traffic violations, Fresno California speeding tickets, and accidents in the first place. In addition, many Fresno California car insurance companies offer a discount for certification of a completed Fresno California online defensive driving course or Fresno California online traffic school. In addition to a possible Fresno California insurance rate reduction, Fresno California defensive driving courses are also recommended for new drivers because they teach practical skills that will help avoid accidents and traffic tickets in the future.
Fresno California Classroom Traffic Schools
Remember: the Fresno California Department of Motor Vehicles cannot refer drivers to a specific Fresno California defensive driving school or Fresno California traffic school, so make sure to check that a school is accredited with the state. You can remove most 1 point Fresno California speeding tickets and Fresno California traffic violations by taking a licensed online Fresno California defensive driving class