California Traffic Violations
If you have been charged with a California traffic violation or California speeding ticket, the California Motor Vehicle Department, or California DMV, will assign points to your driving record, depending on the type of infraction. As with most states, you can expect to pay a fine based on the area in which you received your California traffic violation or California speeding ticket. California traffic violations can be paid by mail, in person at the courthouse, by check or money, by phone, or even online, depending on the county in which you received your ticket. Often, by attending a California online defensive driving course, you can receive a California ticket dismissal and remove points from your license.
California Points System and Suspension of Licenses
The California Department of Motor Vehicles issues points to your California driving record based on the type of California traffic violation. There are two levels of California traffic violations: 1-point offenses and 2-point offenses. See the California DMV website for a complete list of California traffic violations and California point assignments.
Some of the most common traffic violations include:
- A traffic conviction: 1 point
- Speeding: 1 point
- An at-fault accident: 1 point
- Reckless driving or hit-and-run driving: 2 points
- DUI: 2 points
- Driving while suspended or revoked: 2 points
The California DMV will notify you when you are halfway to a California license suspension. Because you can only remove 1-point offensive with a California defensive driving course, it is important to be aware of your California driver's license record and take steps accordingly. Your California driver's license could be suspended if you accumulate more than:
- 4 points in 12 months
- 6 points in 24 months
- 8 points in 36 months
Points can be cleared from your California driving record in two ways. First, 1-point California traffic violations will automatically clear after three years, as well as most 2-point California traffic violation offenses. However, you can attend a California internet defensive driving school or California online traffic school to keep 1-point violations from being added to your driver's license in the first place.
Attending a California Defensive Driving School or California Traffic School
If you have received a California speeding ticket or have been stopped for a California traffic violation, which includes minor infractions such as speeding or failing to yield, you can take a California defensive driving course online to remove violations and points from your California driving record. You may also be eligible for California ticket dismissal, depending on the traffic violation. Remember that 2-point violations cannot be waved by attending a California defensive driving school or California traffic school.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles does not recommend specific California defensive driving schools or California traffic schools, so be sure to check with your school to make sure it is fully accredited with the state. Depending on the California traffic violation, your ticket could be dismissed if you attend a California internet defensive driving course or California online traffic school.
The Benefits of a Clean California Driving Record
A clean California driving record can help you in several ways. By taking a California online defensive driving course, you can remove 1-point California traffic violations from your California driver record. Because you can only take one California defensive driving course per 18-month period, it is important to be aware of accumulated points and to reduce them in a timely manner. If you have accrued 4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months, or 8 points in 36 months, your California license will be suspended. But you can avoid having your driver's license suspended or revoked by attending an approved California online traffic school or California online defensive driving course.
In addition, a clean California driving record is essential to keeping your California car insurance premium as low as possible. In general, the less traffic violations you have on your California driving history, the lower your insurance premiums will be. Most California car insurance companies will charge higher premiums for each point accumulated. However, California car insurance companies often offer a car insurance premium reduction of 5-15% for completion of a California defensive driver program, depending on the provider.
California Mature Driver Discount Programs
California drivers 55 and older are eligible to receive car insurance discount for completing an approved California Mature Driver Discount Program. There are many California Mature Driver courses designed to teach current road rules, defensive driving techniques, and generally improve driving skills. These California Mature Driver classes cover topics such as how to minimize the effects of dangerous blind spots, how to monitor your own driving capabilities, vision and hearing changes, hazardous driving situations, and the effects of medication while driving. Courses include at least 400 minutes of instruction and carry a maximum fee of $30 in addition to a $1 California DMV certificate charge, which can be used to obtain a California car insurance reduction, depending on your California insurance provider.
California Juvenile Driver Programs
California teen drivers are under special scrutiny from the California Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are a California teen driver and have received a traffic ticket, your driving license could be suspended if you fail to pay your California traffic ticket fine in a timely fashion, usually within six months of the violation. Upon your first at-fault accident, the DMV will send a warning letter. Then, if you are convicted for a second at-fault accident within a 12-month period, your California driver's license will be suspended unless you are accompanied by a parent or licensed adult over 25. California teen drivers can find out more information about California traffic violations and point assignment at the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
Enrolling in a California online defensive driving course can help teens maintain a clean driving record as well as educate younger drivers and help avoid California traffic violations, California speeding tickets, and accidents in the first place. In addition, many California car insurance companies offer a discount for certification of a completed California online defensive driving course or California online traffic school. In addition to a possible California insurance rate reduction, California defensive driving courses are also recommended for new drivers because they teach practical skills that will help avoid accidents and traffic tickets in the future.
California Classroom Traffic Schools
Remember: the California Department of Motor Vehicles cannot refer drivers to a specific California defensive driving school or California traffic school, so make sure to check that a school is accredited with the state. You can remove most 1 point California speeding tickets and California traffic violations by taking an approved online California defensive driving class.